Home and Community Based Waivers


If you have a medically determined Diagnosis of traumatic brain injury (TBI), the COMMCARE Waiver can help you remain as independent as possible.

Eligibility Criteria:

Be a Pennsylvania resident Be 21 years of age or older Have a medically determinable diagnosis of traumatic brain injury and require a Special Rehabilitative Facility (SRF) level of care Your disability must result in substantial functional limitation in three or more of the following major life activities:

  • mobility
  • behavior
  • communication
  • self-care
  • self-direction
  • capacity for independent living
  • cognitive capacity (judgment, memory and reasoning).
  • Meet the financial requirements as determined by your local County Assistance Office 

Services that can be provided include: 

  • RN, LPN
  • HHA Services
  • Skilled Nursing Services
  • Respite Care - Nursing or Home Health Aide

Note: The list of eligibility criteria and services may change when waiver amendments or waiver renewals are approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).  Please, visit the Department of Public Welfare’s website for a current list of all services provided through this waiver.